My mission

Inspiring women, far from the diktats of fashion. Offering a new way to wear the kimono in one's everyday life with elegance and simplicity. Feeling one's emotions, to respect one's morphology for more well-being, inner beauty and radiant joy.

Confidence...

"We were three kids sitting in the back of the AMI 6 car. 


Do you recall the sloping rear window, protected by a body? Even in the rain, when my father glanced at the rear-view mirror, nothing escaped him.

At the moment, what he was looking at was the door of our house, where my mother would appear. The engine was already running and the smoke from his Gitane (French cigarette) was billowing out the sliding window. It was Sunday, the weather was fine.

At last my father's wife arrived. She had her hair done, her make-up done, and was carrying a small black and varnished handbag, like her high-heeled shoes. The door opened. Do you remember how women in those days used to sit in cars? First the buttocks, then the left leg, next the right leg, and the door closed eventually."

Birth of a brand

Other precious moments of my childhood were the seeds of the designer I have become. They gave me access to the secret of desire, to the language of textiles, to that cryptographic writing, which is called elegance, and which is only understandable to some people. I will nevertheless make a diversion into industry as a chemical engineer. It was the birth of my daughters that gave me the impetus to take up this abandoned road again. As a self-taught designer, training at Supdemod-Lyon and at the Chambre syndicale de la haute couture in Paris will complete my curriculum.

In 2004, I founded my eponymous brand, the house CATHERINE VALENTIN. The workshop is then dedicated to the creation of high-end tailor-made clothes for feminine and demanding women. As I am attentive to their expectations, I understand to what extent the garment is an extension of oneself. It shows a strong desire for singularity.

At the same time, I have been working tirelessly on the kimono since the beginning of my professional transition, and it will become my masterpiece from 2018. This iconic Japanese piece, which is not part of our culture, is unique for expressing femininity with simplicity and authenticity.

I successfully displayed my first kimono collection in 2018, in Paris, at the Made In France show, Porte de Versailles.

The jacquard textile

My encounter with jacquard textiles goes back to my childhood neighbours: weavers who used to give me fabric samples on a regular basis. It was then that I learnt the smell of the textile, its touch, its light, the colours between them, the fall, the flowers, silk...

What I like about jacquard is that it shows a front and a back, whose pattern can be radically different yet sumptuous. These textiles fascinate me like the both sides of a person: inwardness and exteriority. They tell a story. They enable us to experience an inner journey.

It is always with this same memory, this same appetite, this same passion, that during the sourcing period, I go to feel the vibration of the fabric to choose it. I always try to convey, in all humility, that je-ne-sais-quoi, which will touch the sensitivity of each person when putting on his or her kimono.

All our jacquard fabrics are OEKO-TEX® certified.

For the record...

The jacquard weaving process was invented by Joseph-Marie Jacquard, a silk manufacturer from Lyon in 1800. It was a revolution, as it allowed the pattern to be woven directly rather than printed. The looms were impressive for the number of different threads used. This new technique brought a lot of relief and character to textiles.

Ma mission

Inspirer les femmes, loin des diktats de la mode. Proposer une nouvelle façon de porter le kimono dans son quotidien avec élégance et simplicité. Ressentir ses émotions, respecter sa morphologie pour plus de bien être, de beauté intérieure et de joie rayonnante.

Confidences ...

"Nous étions trois enfants assis à l’arrière de l’AMI 6.

Vous vous souvenez de la vitre arrière inclinée, protégée par une casquette ? Même sous la pluie, quand mon père jetait un coup d’œil dans le rétroviseur, rien ne lui échappait.

Pour l’heure, ce qu’il regardait, c’était la porte de la maison, où ma mère allait apparaître. Le moteur tournait déjà et la fumée de sa Gitane s’envolait par la vitre à glissière. C’était dimanche, il faisait beau.

Elle arriva enfin, la femme de mon père. Coiffée, maquillée, un petit sac à la main noir et vernis, comme ses escarpins à talons bobines. La portière s’est ouverte. Vous vous souvenez comment elles prenaient place dans les voitures, les femmes de cette époque ? Les fesses d’abord, puis la jambe gauche, enfin la jambe droite, et la portière se refermait."

Naissance d'une marque

D'autres moments précieux de mon enfance ont été les germes de la créatrice que je suis devenue. Ils m'ont permis d'accéder sans détour au secret du désir, au langage du textile, à cette écriture cryptographique qu'on appelle élégance, et qui n'est compréhensible qu'aux yeux de certain(e)s. Je ferai néanmoins un détour dans l'industrie en tant qu'ingénieure chimiste. C'est la naissance de mes filles qui m'insuffla le déclic pour reprendre cette route abandonnée. Autodidacte de cœur, des formations à Supdemod-Lyon et à la Chambre syndicale de la haute couture à Paris complèteront mon cursus.

En 2004, je fonde ma marque éponyme, la maison CATHERINE VALENTIN. L'atelier est alors dédié à la création sur mesure de vêtements haut de gamme pour des femmes féminines et exigeantes. À l'écoute de leurs attentes, je comprends à quel point le vêtement est le prolongement de soi. Il témoigne d'un fort désir de singularité. 

Parallèlement, je travaille le kimono sans relâche depuis le début de ma transition professionnelle, et il deviendra ma pièce maîtresse à partir de 2018. Cette pièce iconique du Japon, qui ne fait pourtant pas partie de notre culture, n'a pas son pareil à mes yeux pour exprimer avec simplicité et authenticité toute la féminité.

Je présenterai avec succès ma première collection de kimonos à Paris en 2018 au salon du Made in France, Porte de Versailles.

Le textile jacquard

Ma rencontre avec le textile jacquard remonte à mes voisins d'enfance : des tisseurs, qui me comblaient en me donnant régulièrement des échantillons de tissu. C'est ici que, l'air de rien, j'ai appris l'odeur du textile, sa main, son tombé, sa lumière, les couleurs entre elles, les fleurs, la soie...

Ce que j'aime dans le jacquard, c'est qu'il donne à voir un endroit et un envers dont le motif peut être radicalement différent mais tout aussi somptueux. Ces textiles me fascinent comme les deux facettes d'une personne : intériorité et extériorité. Ils laissent toute la place à une histoire à raconter, un voyage intérieur à vivre.

C'est toujours avec cette même mémoire, ce même appétit, cette même passion, qu'en période de sourcing, je pars sentir la vibration du tissu pour le choisir. J'ai toujours à cœur de transmettre en toute humilité, ce quelque chose qui viendra toucher la sensibilité de chacune quand elle portera son kimono

Tous nos tissus jacquard sont certifiés OEKO-TEX®.

Pour la petite histoire...

Le procédé de tissage jacquard a été inventé par Joseph-Marie Jacquard, soyeux lyonnais en 1800. C'est une révolution, puisqu'il permet de tisser directement le motif plutôt que de l'imprimer. Les métiers à tisser sont impressionnants par le nombre de fils différents utilisés. Cette nouvelle technique apporte beaucoup de reliefs et de caractères aux textiles.